Teesside University · Teesside University International Business School
Business Administration (DBA) (Online), Doctorate
Overview
A professional doctorate in business administration studied 100% online over 39 months full-time or 4 years part-time, ending in a 40,000-50,000-word thesis defended at a viva voce.
- Official program name
- Business Administration (DBA) (Online), Doctorate
- Awarded degree
- Doctorate in Business AdministrationSource: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026
- Degree level
- Doctoral — DBA (professional doctorate)
- Awarding institution
- Source: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026
- Location
- Middlesbrough, United KingdomWhere the institution or the unit that runs the program is based. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll.
- Subject
- Credits
- Not verified
- Duration
- 39 months full-time; 4 years part-timeSource: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026
- Start terms
- March, OctoberSource: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026
- Language of instruction
- EnglishEvidence: the program is offered and assessed in English as published; a module-by-module language statement is not published.Source: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026
Why this program is listed
Professional doctorate in business administration offered full-time and part-time, 100% online; a viva voce is required but its location is not stated.
Source: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026We list English-taught online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees in business subjects, awarded by institutions with legal recognition in their country. Eligibility rules
Online format and attendance
- Academic delivery
- Fully onlineAll teaching is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All teaching is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.Source: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026
- Campus visits
- Campus attendance: not verified
- Placement / internship
- Placement requirement: not verified
- Class schedule
- AsynchronousSource: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026
- Study intensity
- Full-time, Part-timeSource: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026
Attendance, exams and travel as published
Thesis / dissertation defense Required
Viva voce to defend the doctoral thesis; location not stated.
Source: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026Other in-person requirement Not verified
Annual doctoral colloquium; format and location not stated.
annual
Source: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026
Curriculum
Thesis
- Doctoral-level thesis of approximately 40,000-50,000 words under the supervision of at least two supervisors.Source: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026
Admissions
- Prior degree / qualification
- RequiredMaster's degreeSource: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026
- Work experience
- RequiredMinimum of three years' relevant professional experience, evidenced through a CV and referencesSource: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026
- Personal statement
- RequiredResearch proposal using the prescribed templateSource: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026
- Interview
- RequiredInterview for shortlisted applicantsSource: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026
Tests
- IELTS Academic
- Required — minimum 6.5For applicants whose first language is not English; no less than 5.5 in each component, or equivalentSource: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| All online students — Full-time | £31,500GBP | entire program · 2026-27Source: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026 |
| All online students — Part-time | £22,050GBP | entire program · 2026-27Source: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026 |
Scholarships and financial aid
Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Recognition, accreditation and eligibility
Legal recognition of Teesside University
Office for Students (OfS)
Registered higher-education provider — Registered (Approved (fee cap))
Authority in United Kingdom
“LegalName: Teesside University; RegisteredCategory: Approved (fee cap)”
Source: register-api.officeforstudents.org.uk · verified October 11, 2026Office for Students (OfS)
Degree-awarding powers — Research degree awarding powers
Authority in United Kingdom
“HighestLevelOfDegreeAwardingPowers: Research”
Source: register-api.officeforstudents.org.uk · verified October 11, 2026
Business-school and program accreditation
No business-school or program accreditation verified. Legal recognition does not depend on it.
Recognition in the institution's own country does not guarantee that the degree is recognized for employment, licensing or further study everywhere. Check with the relevant body where you plan to use it.
International applicants
- We welcome applications from international students.Source: tees.ac.uk · verified October 11, 2026
Sources and verification
- register-api.officeforstudents.org.uk/api/Provider/10007161 — Accreditor directory, verified October 11, 2026
- tees.ac.uk/postgraduate_courses/business_management_&_enterprise/doctorate_business_administration_( — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- tees.ac.uk/postgraduate_courses/business_management_&_enterprise/mba_master_of_business_administrati — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other schools
Same degree level and dedicated subject. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Doctor of Business Administration
Doctor of Business Administration: Marketing (Quantitative Research)
Online Business Schools is independent and not affiliated with Teesside University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the institution.