Skip to content
Online BusinessSchools
Macquarie University logo

Macquarie University · Macquarie Business School

Master of Applied Finance

Master'sEnglish-taughtMaster of Applied Finance

Overview

A 120-credit-point master's in applied finance from Macquarie Business School, offered off-campus/online in 10-week terms with evening synchronous sessions and two block weekends; 1 to 1.5 years full-time depending on admission point.

Official program name
Master of Applied Finance
Awarded degree
Master of Applied Finance
Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's — MFin
Awarding institution
Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Sydney, New South Wales, AustraliaWhere the institution or the unit that runs the program is based. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll.
Subject
Credits
120 credit points (Foundation Zone 40 + Core Zone 80)Australian credit points — not directly comparable with other credit systems.
Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Full time: 1.5 years, 1 year (or equivalent part time) (1 year requires a related qualification and two years relevant work experience)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Term 1, Term 2, Term 3, Term 4
Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026
Language of instruction
EnglishEvidence: the program is offered and assessed in English as published; a module-by-module language statement is not published.
Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026
Why this program is listed

Study option listed as Off-campus with Online and Off-campus start locations; teaching uses evening synchronous sessions plus two block weekends whose location is not stated.

Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026

We list English-taught online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees in business subjects, awarded by institutions with legal recognition in their country. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus attendance, placements, schedule and time zones are shown separately, each only as the institution states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll teaching is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All teaching is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026
Campus visits
Campus attendance: not verified
Placement / internship
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026

Attendance, exams and travel as published

  • Residential week / residency Not verified

    Two immersive block weekends; location not stated

    two block weekends

    Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Foundation zone (4 units) for students from other fields, core essentials (4 units) and 40 credit points of finance electives.
    Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waiver-available and not-required items are shown exactly as the institution states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree / qualification
RequiredAQF level 7 bachelor's qualification or equivalent and two years relevant approved work experience (1.5-year admission point)
Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026
Work experience
RequiredTwo years relevant approved work experience
Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026
CV / résumé
RequiredUp-to-date resume or CV
Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6.5Overall 6.5 with 6 in each band
Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the intake the institution printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 21, 2026 · for Term 1 2027 (Online)

    Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    March 22, 2027 · for Term 2 2027 (Online)

    Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    June 14, 2027 · for Term 3 2027 (Online)

    Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    September 6, 2027 · for Term 4 2027 (Online)

    Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its published currency, fee category, academic year and basis. Nothing is converted; figures on different bases or in different currencies are not comparable, and tuition is not the full cost of study.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Domestic students — Domestic fee paying, estimated annual feeA$43,700AUDper academic year · 2027Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026
Domestic students — Domestic fee paying, fee per credit pointA$546.25AUDper credit · 2027Estimated tuitionA$65,550 = 120 Australian credit points × A$546.25 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required attendance, credit transfer reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of study.Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the institution for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Recognition, accreditation and eligibility

Separate questions: is the awarding institution legally recognized to award this degree, is the business school accredited, and who may enroll in this online program?

Legal recognition of Macquarie University

  • Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)

    Registered higher-education provider — Australian University

    Authority in Australia

    “Macquarie University is registered by the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA) as a higher education provider in the category of Australian University and has authority to self-accredit its own courses.”

    Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026

Business-school and program accreditation

  • AACSB International (AACSB)

    Business-school accreditation — Accredited

    “Since 2018, the School has been accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB)”

    Source: mq.edu.au · verified October 11, 2026

Held by the business school. A school-level accreditation does not by itself mean that every program is covered.

Recognition in the institution's own country does not guarantee that the degree is recognized for employment, licensing or further study everywhere. Check with the relevant body where you plan to use it.

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. mq.edu.au/about/about-the-university — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  2. mq.edu.au/study/find-a-course/courses/master-of-applied-finance/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. mq.edu.au/study/find-a-course/courses/master-of-business-administration/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and dedicated subject. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Science in Finance Online

Master'sMSEnglish-taughtMaster of Science in Finance
Subject: Finance
Location: Auburn, Alabama, United StatesInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll teaching is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: about 2.5 years (5 fall or spring semesters); 6-year limit (Typical pace for working students taking two courses per semester) · 30 US credit hours
Tuition: Tuition: US$1,000 per credit · All online students — Per credit hour · 2025-2026
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Atlantic Technological University

Master of Science in Innovation in Fintech

Master'sMScEnglish-taughtMaster of Science in Innovation in Fintech
Subject: Finance
Location: Galway, IrelandInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll teaching is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Part-time
In-person requirements: No campus visits required
Duration: 2 years · 90 ECTS credits
Tuition: Tuition: €7,200 entire program · EU/EEA students — EU
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Arden University

MSc Accounting and Finance

Master'sMScEnglish-taughtMSc Accounting and Finance
Subject: Accounting · Finance
Location: Coventry, United KingdomInstitution location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll teaching is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Part-time
In-person requirements: No campus visits required
Duration: Part-time: 1 year+ (Online) (Printed as a minimum ('1 year+').)
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Business Schools is independent and not affiliated with Macquarie University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the institution.